Though You Slay Me

Ok.

I have to share this song with you.

I’ve had it on repeat lately. It is an absolutely beautiful picture of the bittersweet lives Christians lead. I’m sure many of you have heard it, but if not, you have to listen to it (this version in particular includes John Piper speaking). If you have gone through anything difficult, ever, in your life, especially recently, I pray these words will minister refreshment to your soul as they have mine. It gives me chills and brings to tears to my eyes to see how our Savior causes evil and pain to work for the enlargement of our joy in Him. The world does not understand. It is opposite of what makes sense. But it is absolutely beautiful. It leaves us awestruck. It changes lives. It drops us to our knees. And we bow, surrendered.

Oh! And then I read Psalm 88 this morning:

But I, O Lord, have cried out to You for help,
And in the morning my prayer comes before You.
14 Lord, why do You reject my soul?
Why do You hide Your face from me?
15 I was afflicted and about to die from my youth on;
I suffer Your terrors; I am overcome.
16 Your burning anger has passed over me;
Your terrors have destroyed me.
17 They have surrounded me like water all day long;
They have encompassed me altogether.
18 You have removed lover and friend far from me;
My acquaintances are in darkness.

But it is quickly followed by Pslam 89: 

The heavens will praise Your wonders, O Lord;
Your faithfulness also in the assembly of the holy ones.
For who in the skies is comparable to the Lord?
Who among the sons of the mighty is like the Lord,
A God greatly feared in the council of the holy ones,
And awesome above all those who are around Him?
Lord God of hosts, who is like You, O mighty Lord?
Your faithfulness also surrounds You.
You rule the swelling of the sea;
When its waves rise, You still them.

It is just incredible. Amen?

Thank you for joining me here!

Leave a Reply

