Because sometimes I just want to be done.

Image

So I’m learning to make jewelry.

I know.

It’s tedious, time consuming work. Sure, it’s fun. But, let me tell you, patience has never been my strongest, uh, gift.

And. This. Yes, this. Requires immense patience. Can I just tell you how it took me three classes to simply cut the outline of my little piece of jewelry from that piece of metal? Yes. Three.

Holy cow.

Can I also tell you that I think it is just another lesson in a long succession of lessons on patience?

Apparently I haven’t learned yet.

Yes.

I couldn’t help but notice the imagery.

I had no idea how much work went into each little teeny part of each little teeny piece of jewelry I wear.

The design.

The tracing.

The sawing. And more sawing and more sawing. And. more. sawing.

The filing. The riveting. The polishing. The finishing. The piecing together.

And did I mention the sawing?

As I sat there for two straight hours drilling and sawing out one teeny tiny little line on part of my design. My mind screamed with impatience.

My impatience at the work. I wanted to mow ahead with my saw, pushing the saw forward, instead of steadily resting it vertically. And then my line would go crooked, or I’d break my saw blade, or the blade would catch.

And in those irritating moments I was struck by how similar it felt to the often frustrating sanctification process. 

Because I don’t know about you. But sometimes.

I. just. want. to. be done.

I don’t want to wait.

I don’t want to sit through the tedious (and often quite painful) process of being refined by the Designer.

And.

In the middle of the work, I forget He has a master Design.

And that the design is absolutely stunning. 

And that the design was sketched before the beginning of time.

Because in that ugly piece of scrap metal He sees the beauty. And that ugly piece will become magnificent in His hands. 

He never grows impatient with the sawing and shaping and molding and refining.

Because.

He will accomplish His purpose with that scrappy piece of metal.

Just like I was driven to keep. sawing. so I could see the design come to life, the beauty become reality.

I was reminded of a verse that has brought great comfort often:

The Lord will accomplish what concerns me;

Your lovingkindness, O Lord, is everlasting;

Do not forsake the works of Your hands. Psalm 138:8

I am the work of His hands. I am His master design. Every inch of my personality, my past, my future.

He made no mistake.

And He is sawing, filing, polishing away. That’s a promise. He will not forsake that design. He won’t stop. The saw blade never catches or breaks.

And each circumstance–each strike of the hammer, brush of the file, and stroke of the blade, is divinely ordained for the purpose of that design.

There are no errors.

It will take time. It will take immense patience.

But trusting the Master designer, to be formed in the jewelers hands.

To see the glory of the Designer come alive in the beauty of that design.

Now that.

That is a privilege beyond words.

2 thoughts on “Because sometimes I just want to be done.

Leave a Reply

